Saturday, September 5, 2009

South Korean Provinces

For administrative purposes, South Korea is divided into 8 provinces (도,道,do), 1, Special self-governing Province, 1 Special City and 6 Metropolitan Cities.

The 8 provinces are: Chungcheongbuk, Chungcheongnam, Gangwon, Gyeonggi, Gyeongsangbuk, Gyeongsangnam, Jeollabuk and Jeollanam. The 1 Special self-governing Province is Jeju. The 1 Special City is the capital Seoul and the 6 Metropolitan Cities are Busan, Daegu, Daejeon, Gwanju, Incheon and Ulsan.

Gyeonggi is the largest province in terms of population with Busan the largest Metropolitan City, though, of course, smaller than Seoul - the Special City.

Gyeonggi-do Province includes the capital Seoul, though Seoul has its own administration. The provincial capital of Gyeonggi-do is Suwon. Other provincial capitals are Chuncheon (Gangwon), Cheongju (Chungcheongnam), Daejeon (Chungcheongnam), Jeonju (Jeollabuk), Muan (Jeollanam), Daegu (Gyeongsangbuk) and Changwon (Gyeongsangnam).

Municipal level divisions are slightly similar to those in Japan: Si (city), Gun (county), Gu (district), Eup (town), Myeon (township), Dong (neighborhood), Ri (village).

No comments:

Post a Comment